YAI Seniors Awarded Over $1.4 Million in Scholarships

The Alvin C. York Agricul-tural Institute Class of 2015 Senior Awards Ceremony was held Sunday, May 17, 2015, with this year’s graduating class being awarded more than $1.4 million in scholarships and awards.

YAI Superintendent Phil Brannon opened the event with a welcome to a large crowd in attendance, followed by invocation by senior Veronica Cooper.

Derwin Wright, Assistant Principal at YAI, then introduced presenters for the various awards and scholarships.

The first awards presented were the attendance awards, presented by Angie Starr of Progressive Savings Bank.

Five students were recognized for four years of perfect attendance, and each was awarded a $50 check from Progressive Savings Bank and the Rains Agency.   Those students Jacob Allen, Colton Cooper, Dalton Pittman, Gabe Rush, and Brian Crabtree.

Also during the awards ceremony, National Honor Society members and National Technical Honor Society members were recognized, as well as  those receiving Renaissance rewards for having achieved grades or perfect attendance.

Also recognized were CNA class students, which included  Hunter Brown, Marleigh Cooper, Taylor Crouch, Kelly Mullinix, Tori Ledbetter, Kayla Matthews, Conley Owens, and Amy Wood.

Students scoring a 25 or higher on the ACT test were then recognized;

Michael Goedicke and Gracie Sandman each scored a 25 on the ACT, which means that these students scored at the 79th percentile of all college-bound seniors nationwide.

One student, Gaitlynn Davis, scored a 26 on the ACT, which means that he scored at the 83rd percentile of all college bound seniors nationwide.

Three students scored a 27 on the ACT, which means that they scored in the 87th percentile of college bound seniors nationwide.  Those students were Sonny Asberry, Brad Cook, and Tori Ledbetter.

Two students, Conley Owens and Avena Jones, scored a 28 on the ACT test, which is at the 91st percentile of college bound seniors nationwide, and each was presented a $200 cash award from York Institute.

One student, Kaleb Huling, scored a 29 on the ACT, which is at the 93rd percentile of college bound seniors nationwide,  and  was awarded a $400 cash award from York Institute.

Also asked to stand were all the students who qualified for the Hope (Lottery) Scholar-ships, which are available for all students who have either a 21 on the ACT or a 3.0 GPA.  These scholarships are renewable yearly for 4 years if they continue to carry a 3.0 GPA or higher while in college.

Students who will be receiving the Wilder-Naifeh scholarships for attending any Tennessee Technology Center were also asked to stand and be recognized.

Also announced was the tnAchieves Scholarships, which is the last dollar scholarships and mentoring program designed to provide an opportunity for TN public high school graduates to receive up to $3,000 annually for community college tuition.

The students who have participated in the Dual Credit programs through either the Tennessee College of Applied Technology at Oneida and at Roane State Community College were also recognized.  Mrs. Claudine Pinckley and her late husband Guy C. Pinckley were recognized for their generous funding of this program.

The various scholarships were then presented, which follow with accompanying photos.

The program concluded with Benediction by YAI Senior Vincent LoTempio, followed by a senior slide show, and closing remarks by Supt. Brannon.

The Administration and Staff of York Institute extended a special thank you to all the individuals and organizations funding scholarships and awards for their outstanding students.