August Ballot Will Be Lengthy

With some 80 candidates qualified for positions to be filled locally in the August General Election, and those qualified to fill state and federal positions to be filled, voters will see a large ballot this year.

In addition to filling local offices of County Executive, all 10 County Commissioner seats, General Sessions Judge, Circuit Court Clerk, Trustee, Sheriff, County Clerk, Register of Deeds, Road Superinten-dent, five School Board Member seats, and five Constable seats, voters will also be electing several 8th Judicial District offices, including the positions of Chancellor, Public Defender, District Attorney General, Circuit Court Judge, and Criminal Court Judge, several state judicial positions, and offices, state and federal positions.

Those persons whose qualifying petitions have been certified include the following:

For Fentress County Executive

J. Michael Cross

W. Frank Smith

Rickey Dwayne York

For County Legislative Body

District 1

Leonard Bilbrey

Jimmy Johnson

Justin E. (Elvis) Miller

For County Legislative Body

District 2

James Hack Brown

Billy Campau

Kim Davidson

Kenneth Green

David I. Oppenheim

Porter Ray Penticuff

Robert S. (Bob) Pile

Jerry Paul (JP) Reagan

For County Legislative Body

District 3

Robert D. Cooper

Melvin A. Doss

Benny M. Hughes

Jesse L. Range

Floyd R. Stephens

Donal Edgar (Don) Williams

For County Legislative Body

District 4

Buddy Carl Edwards

Lester Gooding

Jeff Green

Jerry L. Mifflin

Johnnie Mills

Leon J. Stepp

For County Legislative Body

District 5

Larry Cooper

Mark A. Crabtree

Gail Dishmon

Rodney Dee Jones

Wade Matthews

Steve W. McCoy

Gary Bruce Peters

For General Sessions Judge

Todd Burnett

Paul A. Crouch

For Circuit Court Clerk

Gina Mullinix

Tammy Davis Smith

For Trustee

Nancy A.  Linder Stewart

Wanda R. Tompkins


For Sheriff

Anthony (Tony) Choate

Charles S. (Chucky) Cravens

Max Alan Goodpaster, II

Tom Rosecrants

Steve Taylor

For County Clerk

Jamie M. Edwards

Marilyn LaRue Stephens

For Register of Deeds

Charlotte Peavyhouse Garrett

Rita Pierce Murphy

Patricia L. (Trish) Slaven

Cindy Smith

Crystal L. (Hinds) Tompkins

Gerald (Gary) Volkenand

For Superintendent of Roads

Mark Beaty

James T. (Tommy) Gibson

Todd D. Hunt

Scott Norris

For School Board Member

District 1

Barbara Pile

Jason Smith

For School Board Member

District 2

Karen  Cooper

Kenneth W.  Kenny Walker

For School Board Member

District 3

William “Bill” Cody

For School Board Member

 District 4

Ricky J. (Jody) Bridges

Eddie Cook

For School Board Member

District 5

George D. Garrett

Gary R. Tinch

T. J. Waters

For Constable, District 1

Larry Bull Durham

Bradley Hatfield

For Constable, District 2

James W. Conatser

Spencer Hoover

For Constable, District 3

Larry M. Crabtree

Joseph Edric Linder

For Constable, District 4

Kenneth Fearing

Daniel L. Hall

Darrenn Insco

Jerry Savage

For Constable, District 5

Christopher Joe Crabtree

Denton O. Jones

Jack R. Rosenbaum

In addition to the local offices, the following candidates have submitted duplicate qualifying petitions for district and state positions:


8th Judicial District

Elizabeth C. Asberry

Andy Tillman

Public Defender

8th Judicial District

Mark Eric Blakley

Leif Jeffers

District Attorney General

8th Judicial District

Jared Effler

Lori Phillips-Jones

Read the rest of the story in this weeks Fentress Courier.